The Good Loaf Sourdough Cafe

I love roadtrips. I don’t know bout you, but I ALWAYS look forward to going on one. Regardless on how far or near they are. When my parents were here, they decided to head to Bendigo, since it’s different from the usual Great Ocean Road or Mornington Peninsula we usually go to when they are here. I was super pumped!

It was a really great day for a roadtrip. The sun was shining brightly and there wasn’t a single sign that it might rain at all. The 2 hour drive was really smooth (and straight!) The mr had alot of fun driving there. His first roadtrip drive since he passed his driving!

We made sure we left my place in time to try out The Good Loaf Sourdough Cafe in the city of Bendigo! It was showing on a program in Singapore, and was one of the places on the “have-to-go” list. haha

The Good Loaf Sourdough Cafe

Add : 404 Hargreaves Street  Bendigo VIC 3550

Tel : (03) 5444 2171

And we made it just in time! They open till 3pm on Saturdays and close Sundays! So remember to make your way down to Bendigo a little earlier cause this place sells the most amazing freshly baked bread! They sit nicely in a corner and is not like the older squarish buildings, but round! (:

We saw all the bread that was displayed and couldn’t resist buying them. We bought pumpkin sourdough bread as well as the raisin and walnut loaf! Amazing when warmed up and with some butter. NOMS!

So so true! I found this quote in the toilet. haha But I totally agree! Who could resist freshly baked bread? I definitely can’t! The Good Loaf serves amazing breakfast/brunch too! There are quite a number of choices to choose from and also a Saturday special : French Toast with caramelised bananas and vanilla mascarpone. Let me tell you, the special is SO GOOD.

Yes I know it looks sinful. But after a 2 hour drive and working at for the past 5 days, you should reward yourself with this sweet treat! Worth all the calories. haha (: Besides, you don’t have this everyday do you? hehe

We also ordered their bacon and tomato frittata with a side of salad and it was so good. They made bacon cups and had a whole egg in the middle. It was like a kid eating Kinder Surprise and finding a toy in the middle; I was beaming when I cut into it and found a whole egg! hehe Their salad was really yummy! It had a combination of barley, red quinoa, walnuts, capsicum, avocado, raisins and rocket leaves! So gonna try making this at home. hehe Yummy and healthy. Best combination!

Even though this looks like a normal sandwich, this bacon, egg and homemade pesto sandwich was delish! The adding of pesto was just genius! Brought this sandwich to a whole new level of yums!

The Mr picked the savoury muffin and it was delicious! Really different form the usual sweet muffins we have. Having it is making me want to bake my Broccoli and Cheese muffins! mmm!

Butter just goes well with everything aye? (:

This is something that caught my eye the moment I looked on the menu board. Indian baked beans! A slight tinge of curry powder and chilli with a dollop of yogurt! Something different but in a good way! Not the usual tomato based baked beans. We all really enjoyed it!

I love love love how they serve their milk in an old school milk bottle! (: Mum loves her long black with warm milk. She said if the milk is not warm, then her coffee would not be as hot anymore! haha

Of course, I had my chai soy latter and it came with a packet of honey! I have to say I’m very reliant on my chai latter. It’s one of my morning essentials. (:

So if you’re a bread lover like me, it’s definitely worth the roadtrip down to Bendigo and try their breads! (: You and your bellies will not regret it! You have my word!

19 thoughts on “The Good Loaf Sourdough Cafe

  1. Ames says:

    This looks lovely! I have a friend who lives down Bendigo end so I’ll be sure to tell them to stop by… unless I go down there myself ;).

    • thesovietchairman says:

      Mmmm… Who’s this friend? 🙂

      It’s a great place- we regularly get bread from there. If I’m not mistaken, it’s run by a former mayor.

      • liannelow says:

        Who’s which friend you’re referring to dearie?

        But yes! Lucky u to have their bread on a regularly basis! Hehe would love that myself! Hehe oh wow! I didn’t know that! That’s awesome! 🙂 thanks for sharing that info!

      • thesovietchairman says:

        Sorry, I was referring to Amy’s comment :). I’m that friend 😉

        Om nom nom!

  2. Daisy@Nevertoosweet says:

    YAY! So glad I tweeted that I was going to Bendigo hahaha and that you were able to recommend The Good Loaf Sourdough it was SO SO SO good 🙂 so much damn better than that stupid High Tea that I had sigh I haven’t even had time to ‘blog’ about it hahaha i miss the french toast ~ SOOOO Syrupy!

    • liannelow says:

      hehe (: SO glad I could share my experience with you and you liked my recommendations! hehe Aww, sorry about the high tea. But hope you had fun at Bendigo though!

      and yes. the french toast. MMMM.

  3. Cass @foodmyfriend says:

    I love road trips!! A few hours in though, everything starts to hurt 😛 It’s so nice to get away and have the freedom you have with your own car with you. I absolutely adore sour dough. This all looks beautiful!

Leave a comment