{Quick & Easy} Salmon, Shiitake and Edamame Soba Noodles

Part two of our jap themed dinner features a bowl of salmon, shiitake & edamame soba noodles! Remember my post on okonomiyaki? This goes really well with it! I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been a soba person, not so much udon. Maybe cause it makes me feel like I’m eating something healthier. hehe I do usually like the cold version, especially cause I get to dip it in the cold soba sauce and slurp it!

But I decided to try a hot version of it. And I was really glad with how it turned out! I could seriously have a bowl of it every night! hehe The addition of the edamame not only added freshness, but also added a vibrant colour to the dish!

And what’s more? I topped the soba noodles with supper yummy korean rice seasoning! If you haven’t had this before, I urge you to head to an asian supermarket to get one ASAP!! You could even top the okonomiyaki with it! So so good (: So here’s the recipe which I used for this delicious and healthy (in my opinion) soba noodles! And you can definitely get it cooked in less than 30 minutes! That’s a win-win in my books!

Salmon, Shiitake & Edamame Soba Noodles (adapted from Flying Fourchette)

300g skinless salmon fillet, cut into cubes

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

6 fresh shiitake mushrooms, thinly sliced

1/2 cup edamame, shelled

180g soba (buckwheat noodles)

2 tbs vegetable oil

 For sauce :

1 /3 cup water

1/3 cup light soy sauce

3 tsp korean hot pepper paste (gochujang)

1 tbs brown sugar

Steps :

1) For the sauce : Stir all the ingredients together until the sugar has completely dissolved. Set aside.

2) In a non-stick frying pan, add 1 tbs of vegetable oil and fry the cubes of salmon until all sides of the salmon is slightly brown. Set it aside. Add the rest of the vegetable oil, and fry the garlic till fragrant then add the shiitake. Fry for about 5 minutes, or until the shiitake is tender.

3) Add the salmon cubes back into the pan, and add half of the sauce and allow it to simmer for 10 minutes on low heat. Meanwhile, heat a pot of water and cook the soba noodles till just tender (about 7 minutes, depending on the instructions on the packet). Drain the noodles and run under cold water, to stop it from cooking further. Drain well and place in a large bowl.

4) Transfer the cooked salmon with the sauce into the large bowl and toss it lightly until the noodles are well coated. Add the edamame and give it another toss, careful not to mash the salmon. Put a few more teaspoons of sauce if desired.

5) Sprinkle with rice seasoning before serving. ENJOY!

Definitely something quick and satisfying after you’ve had a long day at work or school. So hopefully this would be something you’d like to give a try! (: Happy midweek!

12 thoughts on “{Quick & Easy} Salmon, Shiitake and Edamame Soba Noodles

  1. Felicia (@felhuang) says:

    I am looking at this at 11pm and craving supper now. It looks so healthy and nourishing and extremely delicious, what the Japanese do best. But I don’t why it made me think of fried hokkien mee and the rice seasoning makes me think of the fried lard bits on top of it. How random right LOL!

    • liannelow says:

      hahaha i think you are missing sg hawker food at the same time! haha cos it doesnt look like hokkien mee at all le. haha and is probably 10 times healthier! hehe try this babe! I think u will like it! (: x

  2. Daisy@Nevertoosweet says:

    Ohhh yummm 🙂 and hahaha it really is kinda easy maybe I can tackle it too ~ I’ve been craving salmon lately 🙂 And i’m definitely going to get some Korean rice seasoning ~ definitely in love with Korean food lately!

    • liannelow says:

      Thanks Vanessa! (: Omgness! I didn’t even realise I didn’t put the measurements right! Thanks for letting me know! It’s tsp! but add each tsp and see if it’s spicy enough for u instead of adding all 3 tsp at one shot. Enjoy! x

Leave a comment